ISO/IEC 20000

ISO/IEC 20000 is an international standard that allows organizations to demonstrate excellence and prove best practice in IT service management. It is a service management system (SMS) standard which specifies requirements for the service provider to plan, establish, implement, operate, monitor, review, maintain and improve an SMS.

The requirements include the design, transition, delivery and improvement of services to fulfill agreed service requirements. ISO/IEC 20000 consists of the following parts, under the general title Information technology – Service management:

  • Service management system requirements
  • Guidance on the application of service management systems
  • Guidance on scope definition and applicability of ISO/IEC 20000
  • Process reference model
  • Exemplar implementation plan for ISO/IEC 20000

At ICT Mentors, we use ISO/IEC 20000 to:
  • Assist our client who seek services from service providers and require assurance that their service requirements will be fulfilled;
  • Work with organizations that requires a consistent approach of service delivery by all their service providers;
  • Work with service providers that intend to demonstrate their capability for the design, transition, delivery and improvement of services that fulfil service requirements;
  • Help service providers to monitor, measure and review their service management processes and services;
  • Work with service providers to improve the design, transition, delivery and improvement of services through the effective implementation and operation of the SMS;
  • Assess or audit as the criteria for a conformity assessment of a service provider’s SMS to the requirements in ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011.

The standard allows IT service provider organizations to achieve conformance to a service management system which requires them to continually improve their delivery of IT services. ISO/IEC 20000 was first released in 2005 and is now at the second edition. It aligns to the IT infrastructure library (ITIL®) best practice framework. All ISO/IEC 20000 qualification levels are recognized as complementary to the official ITIL qualification scheme.

Successful candidates are awarded credits towards the ITIL Expert Qualification (Foundation 1.0 credits, Practitioner 1.5 credits, Auditor 1.0 credits).